Home
 
RC Airplane Reviews The #1 Source for Reviews!
Tower Hobbies P-51D Mustang Review Print E-mail
Wednesday, 26 January 2011 19:31


History


The North American Aviation P-51 Mustang was an American long-range single-seat World War II fighter aircraft. Designed and built in just 117 days to a specification issued to NAA by the British Purchasing Commission, the Mustang first flew in Royal Air Force (RAF) service as a fighter-bomber and reconnaissance aircraft before conversion to a bomber escort, employed in raids over Germany, helping ensure Allied air superiority from early 1944. As well as being economical to produce, the Mustang was a fast, well-made, and highly durable aircraft. The definitive version, the P-51D, was powered by the Packard V-1650, a two-stage two-speed supercharged version of the legendary Rolls-Royce Merlin engine, and was armed with six .50 caliber (12.7 mm) M2 Browning machine guns. The Merlin engine produced 1,490 HP and propelled the Mustang to a max speed of 487 mph.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 02 March 2011 21:24
Read more...
 
Parkzone UM P51-D Mustang Review Print E-mail
Monday, 31 January 2011 02:48

Parzkone Ultra Micro P-51D Mustang Review

Intro

Ever since I first flew the Parkzone UM Sukhoi my eye has been enamored by the UM P51-D. I always planned on picking one up, but other plans and planes got in my way. I was delighted when one of the members of our club showed up today with a brand new Ultra Micro Mustang and asked that I maiden it for him! Finally my chance to fly the little mustang.

Last Updated on Tuesday, 08 February 2011 19:12
Read more...
 
Blitz RC Works P-38 Lightning Review Print E-mail


Blitz RC Works P-38

History

The Lockheed P-38 Lightning was a World War II American fighter aircraft built by Lockheed. Developed to a United States Army Air Corps requirement, the P-38 had distinctive twin booms and a single, central nacelle containing the cockpit and armament. Named "fork-tailed devil" by the Luftwaffe and "two planes, one pilot" by the Japanese, this unique aircraft was used in a number of different roles including dive bombing, level bombing, ground strafing, photo reconnaissance missions, and extensively as a long-range escort fighter when equipped with drop tanks under its wings.

The P-38 was used most successfully in the Pacific Theater of Operations and the China-Burma-India Theater of Operations as the mount of America's top aces, Richard Bong (40 victories) and Thomas McGuire (38 victories). In the South West Pacific theater, the P-38 was the primary long-range fighter of United States Army Air Forces until the appearance of large numbers of P-51D Mustangs toward the end of the war. The P-38 was unusually quiet for a fighter, the exhaust muffled by the turbo-superchargers. It was extremely forgiving, and could be mishandled in many ways, but the rate of roll was too slow for it to excel as a dogfighter. The P-38 was the only American fighter aircraft in production throughout American involvement in the war, from Pearl Harbor to Victory over Japan Day. Powered by 2 Allison V-1710 V-12 piston engines producing 1,725 HP each, the P-38 was able to achieve a maximum speed of 443 mph with a range of 1,300 miles.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 02 March 2011 21:24
Read more...
 
Hobby Lobby ERC Micro Stik Review Print E-mail
Wednesday, 19 January 2011 05:29

ERC Micro Stik Review

Intro

During our annual membership meeting I was halfway through a saucy bowl of spinach and cheese ravioli when Crazy Thumbs turned to me and said "Dude, you should totally get one of those Micro Stiks from Hobby Lobby."

"Oh? Why?"

"I heard they are awesome and that would give you something to fly at the indoor fly-in besides your Blade 120 SR!"

My lovely assistant was sitting across from us and she agreed that a new micro plane would be cool. I try not to buy too many planes without first financially planning it out, but fortunately the next day I sold a plane and had the cash for the Micro Stik. Immediately after selling the plane I made a B-line to the hobby shop, gave the good man some moola and walked out with a brand new Micro Stik!




Last Updated on Tuesday, 08 February 2011 19:17
Read more...
 
Parkzone Ember 2 Review Print E-mail

Intro

When the clouds roll in, the leaves fall and the air turns cold it is usually the time I start putting my airplanes away for the winter. I still fly during the cold season but obviously not as much as when the weather is warm. The flying bug doesn't totally go away for the winter and fortunately for me I recently joined a club that has TWO indoor flying areas to help fulfill my addiction.


The indoor flying area brings a nice mix of helicopters and airplanes  each week and we all manage to fly in a controlled chaos where not too many mishaps happen. Crazy Thumbs usually brings his mini-cub to the indoor fly-in but has recently decided he wanted something a little slower for the indoor flying....must be old age. After some searching he found the Parkzone Ember 2 BNF selling for less than $75! With a quick draw that would make Billy the Kid jealous he pulled out his credit card and bought the Ember 2.


Last Updated on Monday, 07 February 2011 22:52
Read more...
 
«StartPrev1112131415NextEnd»

Page 14 of 15
Copyright © 2017 rcairplanereviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
 

Who's Online

We have 33 guests online

Helpful Links

What is your favorite type of RC airplane to fly?

What is your favorite type of RC airplane to fly?