Home
 
RC Airplane Reviews The #1 Source for Reviews!
Nitroplanes Airfield P-47 Review Print E-mail
Sunday, 13 March 2011 22:44

Nitroplanes Airfield P-47 1400mm Review


Intro

After receiving, reviewing and loving the Airfield F4U Corsair I found myself checking out the online stores for other Airfield/FMS aircraft. I knew they had several to choose from but i had never given them too much thought, that is until I flew the Corsair. Anyone that has spent some time reading this site knows that I am a bit of a P-47 Thunderbolt nut, so the Airfield Jug was an easy choice. Veering off my normal course of action I opted to not get the Almost-Ready-to-Fly version, but instead went with the kit version. I chose the kit version because I knew it still came with servoless electric retracts and I wanted to find out and show others how different it was building a kit as opposed to an ARF or RTF.


Last Updated on Monday, 14 March 2011 00:48
Read more...
 
Nitroplanes Dynam C-47 Review Print E-mail
Wednesday, 09 March 2011 22:00

Dynam C-47 Review

History

The Douglas C-47 Skytrain or Dakota is a military transport aircraft that was developed from the Douglas DC-3 airliner. It was used extensively by the Allies during World War II and remained in front line operations through the 1950s with a few remaining in operation to this day.

The C-47 was vital to the success of many Allied campaigns, in particular those at Guadalcanal and in the jungles of New Guinea and Burma where the C-47 (and its naval version, the R4D) made it possible for Allied troops to counter the mobility of the light-traveling Japanese army. Additionally, C-47s were used to airlift supplies to the embattled American forces during the Battle of Bastogne. But possibly its most influential role in military aviation was flying "The Hump" from India into China. The expertise gained flying "The Hump" would later be used in the Berlin Airlift, in which the C-47 would play a major role, until being replaced by the C-54.

In Europe, the C-47 and a specialized paratroop variant, the C-53 Skytrooper, were used in vast numbers in the later stages of the war, particularly to tow gliders and drop paratroops. In the Pacific, with careful use of the island landing strips of the Pacific Ocean, C-47s were even used for ferrying soldiers serving in the Pacific theater back to the United States.

C-47s in British and Commonwealth service took the name Dakota, from the acronym "DACoTA" for Douglas Aircraft Company Transport Aircraft. The C-47 also earned the informal nickname Gooney Bird in the European theater of operations.

The C-47 has a crew of three and is able to hold 28 troops and a payload of 6,000lbs. The C-47 was powered by 2 Pratt & Whitney engines capable of producing 1,200 hp and achieve a maximum speed of 224 mph.


Last Updated on Monday, 14 March 2011 00:43
Read more...
 
Hobby Lobby F-16 Thrust Vectoring Jet Review Print E-mail
Wednesday, 16 February 2011 06:07

Hobby Lobby F-16 Thrust Vectoring Review

History

The General Dynamics F-16 Fighting Falcon is a multirole jet fighter aircraft originally developed by General Dynamics for the United States Air Force. Designed as a lightweight day fighter, it evolved into a successful all-weather multirole aircraft. Over 4,400 aircraft have been built since production was approved in 1976. In 1993, General Dynamics sold its aircraft manufacturing business to the Lockheed Corporation, which in turn became part of Lockheed Martin after a 1995 merger with Martin Marietta.


The Fighting Falcon is a dog fighter with numerous innovations including a frame less bubble canopy for better visibility, side-mounted control stick to ease control while maneuvering, a seat reclined 30 degrees to reduce the effect of g-forces on the pilot, and the first use of a relaxed static stability/fly-by-wire flight control system that makes it a highly nimble aircraft. The F-16 has an internal M61 Vulcan cannon and has 11 hard points for mounting weapons, and other mission equipment.Although the F-16's official name is "Fighting Falcon", it is known to its pilots as the "Viper", due to it resembling a viper snake.


The Falcon is powered by a F110-GE-100 after burning turbofan capable of thrusting the plane to 915 mph at sea level or 1,500 mph at altitude. The F-16 has a service ceiling of 60,000 feet and climbs at a rate of 50,000 m/s.


Last Updated on Thursday, 02 June 2011 16:34
Read more...
 
Parkzone P47 Review Print E-mail
Tuesday, 28 December 2010 20:18

Intro


When I read that Parkzone was releasing another warbird I was intrigued, when I heard it was a P47 I was excited, when I learned that it would be retract and flap ready for under $200 I was completely stoked! I waited to see what Christmas would bring under    the tree and although I did receive some nice RC Airplane related gifts there was no Thunderbolt for me to unwrap. Fortunately I was given a visa gift card that I transformed into a Parkzone P47 Thunderbolt. Yay!

Last Updated on Tuesday, 08 February 2011 19:13
Read more...
 
Nitroplanes 1430mm F4U Corsair Review Print E-mail
Monday, 07 February 2011 18:10



History

The Chance Vought F4U Corsair was a carrier-capable fighter aircraft that saw service primarily in World War II and the Korean War. Demand for the aircraft soon overwhelmed Vought's manufacturing capability, resulting in production by Goodyear and Brewster. 12,571 F4U Corsairs were manufactured by Vought, in 16 separate models, in the longest production run of any piston-engine fighter in U.S. history (1942–1953).

The Corsair served in with the U.S. Navy, U.S. Marines, Fleet Air Arm and the Royal New Zealand Air Force, as well as the French Navy Aeronavale and other, smaller, air forces until the 1960s. It quickly became the most capable carrier-based fighter-bomber of World War II. Some Japanese pilots regarded it as the most formidable American fighter of World War II, and the U.S. Navy counted an 11:1 kill ratio with the F4U Corsair. 

The Corsair was powered by a Pratt & Whitney R-2800-18w radial engine capable of producing 2,450 hp and sending the gull-winged bird into the sky at 446mph.

Last Updated on Monday, 14 March 2011 00:46
Read more...
 
«StartPrev1112131415NextEnd»

Page 13 of 15
Copyright © 2017 rcairplanereviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
 

Who's Online

We have 77 guests online

Helpful Links

What is your favorite type of RC airplane to fly?

What is your favorite type of RC airplane to fly?